Thursday, 8 October 2009

Frightened Rabbit announce tour dates and new single

Scottish indie-folk heroes Frightened Rabbit have announced details of a November tour in support of a brand new single.

Swim Until You Can’t See Land will be the first release from the band’s upcoming third album, and is out November 16 via digital release and 7″ vinyl.

Singer Scott Hutchison explains: “Swim Until You Can’t See Land was the title I had in my mind before I even started writing the album. I was becoming more and more interested in the idea of a rejection of the habits and behaviour most people see as normal, and in turn embracing a certain madness.

“It’s about losing your mind in order to reset the mind and the body. Forget what’s gone before and wash it out. This is not necessarily a geographical journey, as the ’swim’ can involve any activity in which you can lose yourself. It’s a good introduction to the record as the theme unravels therein.”

Muso-speak maybe, but we love Frightened Rabbit here at TMM, and we look forward to hearing the new record, which should drop early next year.

The band will also head out on a giant tour in November in support of the new single. The dates:

07 Aldershot, West End Centre
09 Oxford, Academy 2
10 York, Duchess of York
11 Nottingham, Bodega
12 Liverpool, Academy 2
14 Coventry, Kasbah
15 Northampton, Roadmenders
16 Brighton, Corn Exchange
17 Southampton, University
19 Exeter, Lemon Grove
20 London, Troxy
21 Tunbridge Wells, Forum
22 Cambridge, Soul Tree
24 Sheffield, Plug
25 Whitehaven, Civic Hall
27 Fort William, BA Club
28 Stirling, Tolbooth
29 Inverness, Ironworks

01 Aberdeen, Moshulu
02 Dundee, Fat Sams
05 Galway, Black Box
07 Dublin, Academy^
08 Dublin, Academy^
09 Belfast, Mandella Hall^
13 Manchester, Ritz^
14 London, Shepherds Bush Empire^
22 Glasgow, ABC

(^ dates with Modest Mouse)

This article was written for TMM.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Have a thought? Share it.